Slush Fund

I’m thinking of reviewing some books that are not hilariously stupid: I can’t promise that my review will make you laugh. I’m looking for some money for book-buying – probably ebooks, because that’s faster and doesn’t threaten to collapse my house. Paypal or bitcoin works, but I’ve been hankering for a few Maria Theresa thalers.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to Slush Fund

  1. dave chamberlin says:

    Thank you for your efforts, I will give you what i can.

    • Red Zen says:

      I keep trying to stuff my thaler into the screen, and nothing is happening. I’ll resort to moving yuan over Paypal for now, but if you review Jared Diamond’s “Guns, Germs and Steel”, I’ll try again to see how hard I can stuff it for you.

      Really, the thing I most want to pay you for is your bid on a scifi novel, involving a reference-corrected Neanderthal.

  2. anon says:

    I would buy a couple of those manifest destiny t-shirts for a significant markup too. Just read that post the other day.

  3. Anonymous says:

    Smart and SeXy: The Evolutionary Origins and Biological Underpinnings of Cognitive Differences between the Sexes

  4. Lynn says:

    Would you be interested in reviewing anything by James LaFond? He has written a contemporary history of the 2015 Baltimore riots, and some very good fiction in the vein of Robert E. Howard. He is a friend of mine and I can provide complimentary copies for review.

  5. RCB says:

    A smart review of Farewell to Alms by Gregory Clark would be nice.

  6. brendan r says:

    FWIW I’d pay you to read Tripping Over The Truth by Travis Christofferson if a brief argument for metabolic approaches to cancer interests you. Or there’s Seyfried’s text but that’s probably more than you want.

  7. jason y says:

    I’d like you to review Robin Hanson’s “Age of Em”. You’re both smart polymaths with overlapping areas of expertise but your attitudes and outlooks are different enough that I expect you’ll notice interesting connections that he has missed.

  8. jimmy says:

    How about Laland’s “Darwin’s Unfinished Symphony.” Dismissed perfunctorily by Razib, but touted by GMUers Hanson and Kling (the latter at least as Book of the Year material). Tip of the spear for Templeton’s funding to rethink the “standard evolutionary theory.”

  9. Paideia says:

    How about the Genius Famine? I strongly suspect the book is bunk, but would like your opinion on it.

Leave a comment