Henry Harpending

Henry Harpending has died.

He suffered a stroke 3 weeks ago. Within a few days, he also had a MRSA infection in his lungs. The docs eventually cleared that, but his lungs never recovered. He died this afternoon of Adult Respiratory Distress Syndrome.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

135 Responses to Henry Harpending

  1. Sandgroper says:

    Sincere condolences to his family and friends.

  2. Anomaly says:

    Henry was and always will be an inspiration to me through his work, his humor, and his intellectual bravery.

  3. MawBTS says:

    Terrible news. My sympathy to his family.

  4. ziel says:

    So sorry to hear -, my deepest condolences on the loss of your friend, Greg. He was clearly a courageous man, and seemed to be of very generous spirit. He will be missed.

  5. Justin says:

    This is awful. He had a big influence on all of us. God rest his soul.

  6. Nick Rowe says:

    Sorry to hear that.

  7. jark says:

    Sorry to hear of this

  8. syonredux says:

    Best wishes to his friends and family.

  9. I’m sorry to hear this. May his spirit and vision live on.

  10. Anonymous says:

    Damn. My condolences to his family, friends and colleagues.

  11. n/a says:

    Rest in peace Henry

  12. erica says:

    I was so hoping he’d recover, but your earlier post didn’t seem encouraging.
    Months ago, when Dr. H didn’t follow up on a post he had promised he would put up soon, I feared he wasn’t feeling well. He had shared with us earlier that he had been experiencing a health issue.

    My sincere condolences to his family and friends. Great scientists and scientist- educators we can’t afford to lose.

    I am very sorry for your personal loss, Dr. C.

  13. David Frankstone says:

    I extend my condolences to you, his family and his other colleagues

  14. JayMan says:

    A sad day for all of us in these sciences.

    Please give my condolences to his family.

  15. This is terrible news.

    A while back I wrote him with a question about something I was teaching in history, and he copied Dr. C and they both answered with great humor and clarity. I’ve always appreciated the time you both took to answer what was probably a ridiculously easy question from a high school teacher.

    I’m very sorry for your loss, and the loss suffered by his family and friends.

  16. Anonymous says:

    Please pass my condolences on to the family. It is a loss to all.

  17. Terrible news, he will be missed

  18. another fred says:

    Condolences to his family.

    He will be missed by the whole world, even though some may not know it. Calm voices of objective science are all too rare and his was one of the best.

  19. MEH 0910 says:

    I’m sorry for the loss of your friend and colleague.

  20. dried peanuts says:

    sad sad day

  21. George Greene says:

    RIP

  22. M.C. Evans says:

    Professor Henry Harpending impacted my life in a positive way. I will miss him.

  23. pithom says:

    Must be a terrible way to die. Sad, but not entirely unexpected.

  24. TGGP says:

    It is sometimes joked that science marches on with every funeral. This is a case where one fears it will march backward, as Henry was irreplaceable.

  25. Fourth doorman of the apocalypse says:

    RIP Henry Harpending.

    Seems a shame that this is not practiced more often:

    https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Phage_therapy

  26. sabracakeboo says:

    My thoughts and prayers will be with him and his family as he goes to meet the Lord

  27. Mike Johnson says:

    RIP Dr. Harpending. Thanks for everything.

  28. ghazisiz says:

    My condolences to his family and closest friends. I never met him, but his published work changed the way I thought about some things–and that’s a big deal in this world where we all start out with our initial prejudices and continually reinforce them with confirmation bias. If it’s any consolation to this family: he made a big difference.

  29. Flinders Petrie says:

    Rest in peace, Henry. May your intellectual integrity carry on in your writings and encourage others.

  30. Yudi says:

    My condolences to Henry’s family and friends, and to Greg.

    I fear that the next few years will see the departure of many important hereditarians in the sciences–most of them are getting up there in years, and not many younger scientists have dared to walk in their footsteps.

  31. Frau Katze says:

    Sorry to hear this. May his memory be eternal.

  32. Anonymous says:

    It seems like I was just getting to know him. I shall miss his voice.

  33. Paul Hundred says:

    My condolences to you and his family.

  34. Ilya says:

    My deepest, sincerest condolences to his close ones and you. His work and thinking had a profound influence on mine. May he rest in peace.

  35. Gretchen Hawks says:

    Very sad to hear. Good memories of him and his family during our time in Utah.

  36. Andrew says:

    My condolences to the family. I shall miss his insight.

  37. Henry was a thoughtful gentleman. Condolences to his family and friends.

  38. Harold says:

    Very sad news. My condolences to his family and friends.

    I agree with TGGP.

  39. A tremendous loss for all of us. My condolences to you, Dr. Cochran, and to all Dr. H’s surviving friends and family. May his influence live on and on.

  40. SEATAF says:

    I’m very sad to hear of this. My condolences. I hope that your work will continue robustly, Dr. Cochran, and that Dr. Harpending will continue to grow in renown posthumously.

  41. chanda chisala says:

    Big brain. Bigger loss.

  42. akarlin says:

    Unfortunately I never got to meet him, though like many here I did greatly enjoy 10YE and his other work. A big setback for science.

  43. Purple Furple says:

    RIP in peace, Mr. Harpending.

  44. Jason Malloy says:

    A great man. He will be remembered.

  45. expeedee says:

    I have learned much from Henry and will always remember him as a great scientist and a brave man.

  46. Very sad. Sympathies and condolences.

  47. Ron Pavellas says:

    A generous man. A true gentle-man. I feel a loss, not even having met him other than through correspondence. My condolences to the family.

  48. sinorn says:

    My condolences. Great loss.

  49. candid_observer says:

    This is so sad.
    With his passing, the world dims.

  50. Sahin says:

    Rest in peace Prof. Harpending.
    He wrote me in 2003 “Your model needs serious consideration, but it violates the consensus of European and American anthropologists. I personally believe that this consensus is artificial, but these things happen in science”
    If the new origin will not be refuted, it will show Prof. Harpending’s scientific greatness:

    Birth of modern human neither in Africa nor gradual, but macroevolutionary in the Levant circa 150,000 years ago

  51. clumma says:

    A great loss.

  52. Lee Wang says:

    Last farewell to Henry Harpending, clear of Mind and kind of Spirit.

  53. My condolences to Henry’s family and friends, and to Greg.
    I greatly enjoyed an important paper Henry wrote for me, together with Frank Salter, on ethnic nepotism.
    Science surely suffers under the loss of such a clear and brave mind, entering areas with potentials to destroy an otherwise brilliant career.
    May his work be an inspiration to young courageous scientists.

  54. Old Whiskas says:

    My deepest condolences to his family and friends.

  55. JW Bell says:

    It’s a poorer world without him. My condolences.

  56. I am so sorry to hear this sad news. I never met Henry in that usual sense of the word, but of course I met him in the best way, by reading his ideas, watching a video of him giving a talk, and exchanging emails on various subjects. He offered me the chance to comment on a first draft of a paper “Plain and Simple: On a Novel Feature of Amish Personality” and was typically kind about my efforts, saying that he agreed the Amish were probably being bred for civility. He said “Civility is not a bad gloss for what they are being bred for. Greg always points out that every society selects for something where that “something” is a direction in a high dimension space. Of course our press has recently butchered Nicholas Wade for pointing out just that in his recent book. ”
    Here is Henry replying to my invitation to a conference in London on intelligence ” I thought that this was a wonderful idea and planned to come. Then I discovered, several weeks ago what I thought was plus several thousand dollars in my “development account” was in fact minus several thousand dollars. Our administrator “misspoke” it turns out. Hence I am grounded until the end of June.”
    So, what a pleasure to have known, in the modern sense of sitting electronically at the feet of, such a clever kind gentleman, bred for civility.

  57. theoneeyeman says:

    I’m deeply saddened to read of Dr. Harpending’s passing. The world has lost a great mind.

  58. RaceRealist says:

    Wow. I was sure he was going pull through. This is getting really bad. All of the hereditarians are passing without any names to fill their shoes. My condolences, Dr. Cochran.

  59. Jim says:

    Very sad news.

  60. RJW says:

    Very sad to hear. My thoughts are with his family.

  61. Ian says:

    Sad news. Rest in peace, Henry Harpending.

  62. M. M. says:

    Terrible news, farewell.

  63. Anonymous says:

    May he rest in peace. My condolences, Dr. Cochran, for the loss of your friend.

  64. Patrick Hadley says:

    I never met him, but I do agree with you all. He was a gentleman. Yes. But he was also brave. And was he not therefore that rarest of men: a gentle man who cannot be broken? It’s one thing to stand up, never lie down, never roll over. But to stand up, never lie down, never roll over, and yet be gentle in that standing, in that refusal to submit–that is a rare man indeed. He was a man in every sense of the word. Ave atque vale. I shall light a candle for him this day.

  65. Oliver Cromwell says:

    This is a bitter blow to me, someone who knew him only through his writings. My condolences to his friends and family.

  66. D says:

    A life cut short but a contribution that stretches out far beyond us. RIP Henry Harpending.

  67. JB says:

    May he rest in peace. My condolences for the loss of your friend, Dr. Cochran.

  68. deuce says:

    What a great guy. My condolences. A good friend of mine died on April 3rd two years ago. Keep up the good work, Greg.

  69. Icepick says:

    So sorry to hear this. Condolences to his family, friends & colleagues.

  70. Maciano says:

    My condolences to his family, and to you.

  71. pyrrhus says:

    A terrible loss. Rest in Peace.

  72. Gordo says:

    Sorry to hear of this.

  73. Tuck Crosby says:

    Truly, a great man. May he rest in peace.

  74. herfsi says:

    Respect.

  75. Patrick Boyle says:

    I join everyone here in my condolences. He was a really sweet person. You might want to republish some of his stories about his time in Africa.

  76. Paul Conroy says:

    Greg,

    Condolences to you and Henry’s family and friends!

    He’ll be missed…

    Sincerely,
    Paul

  77. j says:

    Feeling loss and sadness.

  78. AppSocRes says:

    The world has lost a true gentleman and scientist. A man characterized by a gentle courage that is extraordinarily rare in our time when “..The best lack all conviction/And the worst are full of passionate intensity. …”. Although I never met the man I still personally feel his loss. How much greater must be the sorrow of family and friends. I extend to them my deepest sympathy.

  79. jamesg1103 says:

    Condolences.

  80. ohwilleke says:

    Condolences. My father recently died under very similar circumstances.

  81. AnotherDad says:

    Along with thousands of others, I learned from his work—and enjoyed it.

    Mr. Harpending was simply one of the good guys—a warrior for truth who makes things better.
    He added to our civilization while many just feast off it.
    He built our civilization up, while many rip it up or tear it down.
    He moved our civilization forward—while so many drag it backward—and he did it with grace and humor. Thanks you Henry.

    Even with his full and well lived life, it’s a shame not to have such a hero with us for a few more years. Even amongst those of us who knew him only through his popular\for-the-layman work, he will be missed.

    My condolences to his family. And to Mr. Cochran for the loss of his partner and friend.

  82. Anchises says:

    Very sad news. Requiescat in pace.

  83. Bla says:

    Very sorry to hear that. My condolences to his family and to you, Greg.

  84. James says:

    That’s terrible news. My condolences to his family.

  85. hbd chick says:

    very sad news. condolences to his family and friends. he’ll be sorely missed.

  86. Mt Isa Miner says:

    My thoughts are with you and his family. May he rest in peace.
    As Another Dad says; he taught me real things.

  87. Toddy Cat says:

    May God’s eternal light shine upon him.

  88. agnostic says:

    As a person, he was humorous, humble, and generous.

    As a worker, he was curious, clever, and tireless.

    A great man has been lost. We can honor him by building on his ideas, and spreading his cornucopia of truly unique and wonderful stories from the field.

  89. He was a fine man who will be greatly missed.

  90. Kudzu Bob says:

    A great loss to us all. My condolences.

  91. Anonymous says:

    My wife and I moved to SLC for a year back in 2007. I had read the 10K Year Explosion and was a bit of a fanboy. I emailed Henry and asked if he had any speaking engagements in the near future. He emailed me back with the following…”Thanks for the nice note…I don’t know about U policy, but my policy is that interested folks from the community are always welcome to drop into my classes.” Best regards, Henry Harpending. Wish I would have taken him up on it…

  92. Tom Bri says:

    Very sorry to learn this. Condolences to his family.

  93. Dahlia says:

    Feel sorry for all of us, for Greg for the loss of his dear friend and wonderful collaborator, and for his family.
    My mother, a nurse with COPD, was just relaying to me tonight how her pulmonary check-up went, and because she’s a nurse, I’m also constantly hearing about MRSA. Constantly! In fact, MRSA is somewhat a worrying obsession with all my nurse relatives. The conversation will always eventually turn to MRSA, even with non-medical people.

    I told her what happened with Henry and the outcome was all too recognizable to her: “Yep, uh huh, yep. I know, I know.”

  94. John says:

    I am sadden for the loss.

  95. Ricky Saini says:

    This is terrible. I was under the impression that he would recover like Mr.Cochran did over here, completely surprised me. =[ Civilization has regressed with this loss.

  96. ajrlv says:

    Sad news, a great man. He will live in by his ideas.

  97. Pingback: Is Capitalism the only reason to care about Intelligence? | evolutionistx

  98. Li says:

    My condolences to his family and friends. A truly great thinker has been lost.

  99. Greying Wanderer says:

    RIP

  100. Anonymous says:

    Συλλυπητήρια

  101. Philip Neal says:

    So sorry to see this. Condolences to his family and friends.

  102. tommy says:

    Terrible loss of a wonderful researcher. My condolences to his loved ones.

  103. Anonymous says:

    Rest in peace

  104. Sideways says:

    I never knew him except from his writing, but I’ll miss his presence. Sorry for his friends and family

  105. Sam says:

    Rest in peace

  106. Samuel Murphy says:

    Like many here I never met Henry personally but felt as though I knew him from his writings and his regrettably infrequent appearances on video. I will always be grateful for his contributions to this area of study.

    My condolences to all who knew and loved him. His legacy will survive beyond death.

    Rest In Peace.

  107. CharlieK says:

    I only knew him through his work, but that was enough. RIP.

  108. Curtis Yarvin says:

    Henry Harpending was a great man and a great scientist. His “red pills” will long outlast him. RIP.

  109. craken says:

    My condolences to family and friends. I admired his integrity and I am grateful for his work.

  110. NobodyExpectsThe says:

    Truly terrible news. My condelences to his family and friends.

    In this new age of leftist oscurantism, Science badly needs more like him.

  111. pam32 says:

    Very sad to hear that.

  112. Jim O'Sullivan says:

    Sorry to learn of it.

  113. Anonymous says:

    Rest in peace, Henry. I loved your stories. No one did it better. This epitah is for you.

  114. et.cetera says:

    May he be remembered.

  115. jb says:

    This makes me very sad. We are left with a Henry Harpending shaped hole in the fields of study where the sort of honesty and integrity that Henry displayed are in shortest supply.

  116. Surge says:

    May he rest in peace.

  117. reiner Tor says:

    RIP, my condolences to his family & friends & to Dr. Cochran, our remaining host.

  118. M.G. says:

    Condolences to his friends and family. He opened my eyes to many things.

  119. Terrence says:

    My condolences. Terribly sorry to hear.

  120. Julian says:

    That is very sad news, my condolences to his family and friends. A fine mind and a good man. Rest in peace.

  121. Pingback: This Week in Reaction (2016/04/10) - Social Matter

  122. Pingback: Celebrity deaths in 2016, revisited | Panther Red

  123. Closet truth seeker says:

    I just found out. He did much good, and he will be missed.

  124. Dr. John K. Press says:

    Sad. I just found out about his work. So sorry.

Leave a comment